FoN- Chapter 7

Chapter 7

The One That Got Away

Lloyd POV

“ ‘I’m going to be you?’ What does that mean? I’m not Lloyd.” I thought. “You’ve always been the Green Ninja, Lloyd.” I told him. “Kai always wanted to be you but he couldn’t. Speaking of him, where is he?” I asked, looking over his shoulder. Lloyd looked really annoyed at me but just sighed and rubbed his temples, muttering something like “I’m not Lloyd.” He blew out a breath and took my arm, marching me down the hallway to the kitchen. “Don’t go anywhere okay?” He told me. “Ooookaaaaay.” I replied skeptically, sitting down.

“I’ll be right back.” He said, shutting the door behind him. I thought, “That was really weird. He doesn’t usually act like that.” I yawned, put my head down on the table, and thought, “I’m really tired. I’ll just close my eyes for a little bit…”

Kai POV

As I closed the door to the kitchen, I wondered how long I had until I forgot everything! It could happen at literally any moment. Maybe there was a way to tell how long I had, like a pattern or something. I slid down to the floor and tried to think about what had been the same at each occurrence. Could it be the location? Everyone had been at the Bounty when it happened. Or maybe the event right before it? Jay had been trying to beat me, Zane had been trying to help Jay, Cole had gotten hurt training with Lloyd, and Lloyd- wait! Was that the pattern? Every time that someone (Well, maybe except Jay) had gotten hurt or was around someone else who was injured, that’s when it happened!

I stood up, excited with my new revelation. I had to find Master Wu! I took a few steps before I remembered he and Nya were getting him ready to leave for the Valley. What would happen now? Could we figure this out on our own? I had to at least try to get to them before he left!

I made my way down the hallway towards Wu’s study, and knocked on the door before turning the knob. Instead of Sensei Wu, however, Misako was inside. She was sitting at the desk with a cup of cold tea and a half-eaten biscuit from breakfast that morning, rubbing her forehead and nibbling on the pencil eraser. Wait, breakfast was hours ago. Had she been in here the whole day?

I slipped inside and shut the door, walking towards the desk she sat at. I tapped her shoulder, and she whipped her head around with a surprised “Ah!” I took a step back to show her that it was me, and she breathed a relieved sigh. “Oh, Kai. Hello. You’re very quiet when you want to be. I don’t think I’ll ever get used to living on a ship on ninjas.” She chuckled tiredly, shaking her head, and turned back to her work.

“Misako, I think I know what’s causing the amnesia!” I blurted. “Whenever a person is hurt, whoever gets near them next forgets!” She looked skeptical, so I told her about Cole and Lloyd, and Zane and Jay. “You might be onto something, Kai.” someone said. We turned towards the door and Master Wu was walking towards us, his bamboo staff clicking against the floor with each step he took.

“Cole is steady, and I must leave now. I will keep this information with me, but you must not forget. Find your core and you will not leave us. You are the only ninja left.” He then mumbled something that sounded like, “Except Nya.” He shook his head and went to the door, looking back and asked, “Kai, move the Bounty to the edge of the forest so I may get off.” I bowed and said, “Yes, Sensei,” following him out the door and to the top of the ship.

Jay POV

After the Bounty had taken off a while earlier, I was hanging out on the top deck with Nya. I was proudly telling her all about how I had finally tied Jay earlier when we were doing the training course downstairs. Nya seemed to be getting restless, so I asked her what was wrong. Nya took a deep breath, and thought for a second before she said, “I know you’ll think I’m crazy right now, but I can’t believe you think you’re my brother. I mean, now there’s 2 ‘Kai’s’ running around, but only 1 is my real brother. It’s just really weird hearing you refer to yourself in 3rd person, like you’re a different person! But, the fact is, you’re not.”

That made no sense to me, but I just let her rant. It was probably just a dream she had or something. “Sounds like a cool dream, but I gotta go. See ya!” I ran to go play this new video game we had just gotten at Ninjago City the other day. I was thinking about it when then ship lurched under my feet as I crossed-or tried to cross- the deck, wobbling and almost falling over. I heard a “Woah!” and turned to see Nya grab onto the railing.

I ran to her side and looked down, noticing we were rapidly descending towards the ground. I looked towards the wheel, and Lloyd and Wu were standing there. Lloyd was at the wheel, and Wu was standing beside him with his steaming blue ceramic teapot and a matching teacup.

“What’s going on?” I asked them when the ship bumped on the ground, and they came down to the deck. “Sensei-” Lloyd started to say something, but Sensei stopped him, whispering, “Kai, please.”(‘Is he talking to me?’ I wondered.) He continued in a louder voice, “I am going on a journey of great importance, and Lloyd,” he emphasized his name, (‘Why?’ I thought to myself.) “will take responsibility while I am gone. That is all.” Lloyd said urgently, “But-” and once again, Sensei interrupted him with a “That is all. Goodbye.”

Sensei Wu yelled, “Ninja-GO!” and spun over the side of the ship in a golden tornado, landing gracefully on the green ground. He came to a stop, waved, and turned to leave.

Sensei Wu POV

As I left my students with a full brain albeit a less full schedule, I thought about what I would find in the Valley. Last time I had seen Fia (assuming she was behind this monstrosity), she had been a baby of 2 months.

Flashback

“Wu! Garmadon! Come in, come in! How have you two been?” Darcus asked us with a smile, opening the door to show a warm and inviting home behind him.

“Well enough, you?” I asked him, stepping inside with Garmadon behind me.

“The happiest man alive right now!” His eyes shone with happiness, and I asked why he felt so jubilant.

“Dorsey! Bring her in please, Wu and Garmadon are here!” He shouted, closing the door as we came inside. I heard a soft cry and a gentle shushing before Dorsey, with her long, curly auburn hair and deep, sea blue eyes, came out of the room next door. She carried with her a bundle that had a small hand waving out of it. The hand grabbed her extended finger, and she slowly came over to me to show me the baby’s face. Garmadon moved to one side while I went to her other side.

Peeking out from the blankets was a tiny face, with rosy red cheeks, emerald green eyes, and dark raven hair. The baby laughed when she saw my face, and reached out as if she wanted me to hold her. Garmadon put out his fingers, and she immediately grabbed onto them and waved them around, giggling.

“What is her name?” I asked my proud friends.

“We decided to call her ‘Fia’. It means ‘freedom seeker.’ We hope if she has an inspiring name, she’ll do amazing things.”

“That seems fitting.” I answered.

“Brother,” Garmadon whispered in my ear, “could she be The One?”

“I do not know, but I don’t think so.”

The baby- Fia- had started crying when I had stopped looking at her. I turned back and noticed her eyes had changed to a rich blue instead of the emerald they had been a short while before. Why had they changed?

“Her eyes are very special. Why do they change color?” I asked the couple.

“We don’t really know. It just kinda… happened one day. I was holding her, and I thought it was just a trick of the light, but…” Darcus trailed off. We then moved on to happier topics and spent a long while at their house before we left.

 

10 years later…

Wu POV

“How could you betray us like this?” A figure shouted at me through the surrounding fog. “You knew she had something special, and you took it away from her! It was all she had, and you TOOK IT AWAY!” I moved towards the wailing voice, and saw a large figure crouched over a smaller one curled up on the ground.

“It is for her own protection! Her powers were becoming too powerful for her to handle! Something had to be done!” I yelled back. “They would’ve overpowered her had I not done something!” The figure turned and I saw a red-haired, blue-eyed woman huddled over a black-haired girl of about 10 curled up on the ground with her eyes closed.

I closed my eyes and backed away, then turned and ran.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hello! Me again! From now on, I will post on this story (AO3 and wordpress.com. I’m gonna keep ‘em synchronized now) every month on the 18th. That’ll give me enough time to think, type/write, maybe proof-read, edit, and finally publish! Thanks for reading my loyal fans! 🙂

Leave a comment